Please note that, due to planned maintenance work on our servers, the ORCID Registry will be unavailable for approximately one hour between 05:01 UTC and 09:00 UTC, 5 May, 2016. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, and thank you for your understanding.

Ado Jorio

Raman spectroscopy, Nanoscience, Nanooptics


Professor in the Department of Physics of the Federal University of Minas Gerais, teaches introductory physics courses, Quantum Mechanics, Solid State Physics, Group Theory and Raman spectroscopy. He received his PhD in physics at the same institution in 1999, working with phase transitions in incommensurate systems. Postdoctoral fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA (2000-2001), working with optical properties of nanomaterials, focusing on optical and Raman spectroscopy of carbon nanomaterials. Coordinator of Strategic Studies and Information Technology Division at INMETRO (2008-2009), for the development of nanometrology, and Director of the Technology Transfer Office at UFMG (2010-2012). Scientific Coordinator of the Brazilian Network of Scanning Probe Microscopy, of the Brazilian-Mexican Center for Nanotechnology and of the Center for Research in Biotech Applications of Carbon Nanomaterials. Currently he is the Coordinator of the Brazilian Research Network in Optical Nanospectroscopy and Instrumentation, and member of the Steering Committee of the National Institute of Science and Technology of Molecular Medicine, and the Scientific and Technological Committee of Fundep Participações SA (Fundepar). He is the author of over 160 scientific articles and three books ("Carbon Nanotubes: Advanced Topics in the Synthesis, Structure, Properties and Applications", "Group Theory: Application to the Physics of Condensed Matter" and "Raman Spectroscopy of Graphene Related Systems"). He worked as Visiting Professor at the ETH Zurich, during 2013, where he worked with nano-optics and optical time resolved spectroscopy, taughting electromagnetism and group theory. Was awarded in 2012 by the International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP Prize) for his contribution to the elucidation of electronic and vibrational properties of carbon nanotubes and became a member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences in 2013.