BS Daya Sagar

  • Country
  • Show details Hide details

BS Daya Sagar (2016-01-24)

  • Keywords
  • Show details Hide details
Mathematical Morphology, Fractal Geometry, Mathematical Geosciences, Geographical Information Science

BS Daya Sagar (2015-01-15)

  • Other IDs
  • Show details Hide details
ResearcherID: A-2654-2012

ResearcherID (2015-01-11)


B. S Daya Sagar received the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from the Faculty of Engineering, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam, India, in 1991 and 1994, respectively. He is currently a Professor with the Systems Science and Informatics Unit (SSIU), Indian Statistical Institute-Bangalore Centre, Bangalore, India. He is the Founding Head of SSIU. He was with the College of Engineering, Andhra University, and held various positions with the Centre for Remote Imaging Sensing and Processing (CRISP), National University of Singapore, Singapore, from 1992 to 2001. He served as an Associate Professor and a Researcher with the Faculty of Engineering and Technology, Multimedia University, Malaysia, from 2001 to 2007. His research interests include Geographical Information Science (GISci), mathematical morphology, digital image processing, fractals, and multifractals in extraction, analyses, and modeling of geophysical patterns. He has authored over 65 papers in journals, and has authored or guest edited nine books or theme issues for journals. He has authored recently a book entitled Mathematical Morphology in Geomorphology and GISci (Boca Raton, FL, USA: CRC Press, 2013). He recently co-edited a special issue on Filtering and Segmentation with Mathematical Morphology for the IEEE JOURNAL ON SELECTED TOPICS IN SIGNAL PROCESSING (2012). He was an elected Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society in 1999 and the Indian Geophysical Union in 2011, and a member of the New York Academy of Science from 1995 to 1996. In 2003, he was elected Senior Member of IEEE. He is the founding chairman of Bangalore Section IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society Chapter. He was a recipient of the first Dr. Balakrishna Memorial Award from the Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences in 1995, the Krishnan Gold Medal from the Indian Geophysical Union in 2002, and the Georges Matheron Award (with Lectureship) of the International Association for Mathematical Geosciences in 2011. He is on the Editorial Boards of the Discrete Dynamics in Nature and Society (Hindawi Publishers, USA), Computers and Geosciences (Elsevier), Environmental Informatics-Frontiers (EPFL-Switzerland), and Image Analysis & Stereology (International Stereological Society).

Record last modified {{lastModifiedDate}}