Rajesh Thakker



Rajesh Thakker is the May Professor of Medicine at the University of Oxford, and a Fellow of Somerville and Harris Manchester Colleges, Oxford. His main research interests include the molecular basis of disorders of calcium homeostasis and he has authored over 350 publications, which have included peer-reviewed papers in the New England Journal of Medicine, Nature, Nature Genetics, Journal of Clinical Investigation and Lancet Journals. He is a Consultant Endocrinologist who provides expertise in the fields of neuroendocrine tumours (NETs), and disorders of calcium and phosphate metabolism. He was previously Professor of Medicine at The Royal Postgraduate Medical School, The Hammersmith Hospital, London, until 1999, when he took up his present position in Oxford. He has served on the MRC Physiological Medicine and Infections Board (2000-2005), the Council for the Society for Endocrinology (2003-2006), and as Chairman of the National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) / MRC Efficacy and Mechanisms Evaluations (EME) Board (2008-2016). He has been the recipient of many prizes which include: Young Investigator Award from the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR), USA (1988); the Raymond-Horton Smith Prize (Cambridge University, UK) (1994); the Society for Endocrinology (UK) medal (1995); the European Journal of Endocrinology Prize (EFES) (1998); WPU Jackson Memorial Lecture, Society for Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Diabetes in South Africa (SEMSDA) (1998); the Graham Bull Prize from the Royal College of Physicians (UK) (1999); Bernard Pimstone Memorial Lecture, SEMSDA (2003 and 2016); the Parathyroid Medal from the Fondazione Raffaella Becagli (FIRMO) (2012); the Jack W. Coburn Endowed Lectureship from the American Society of Nephrology (2012); the Louis V Avioli Founder’s Award from the ASBMR (USA) (2009); the International Research Prize from the Austrian Society for Bone and Mineral Research (2015); and the Dale Medal from the Society for Endocrinology (UK) (2015). Professor Thakker was elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society (FRS) in 2014.

Record last modified Nov 3, 2018 3:29:10 PM