Tony D. James



Tony D James is a Professor at the University of Bath and Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, who currently holds a prestigious Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award. (2017-2022). He has developed a broad interdisciplinary approach to research, with an underpinning focus on the development of modular sensors where he has pioneered a range of reporting regimes. His research interests include many aspects of Supramolecular chemistry, including: molecular recognition, fluorescent sensor design, fluorescence imaging, theranostic systems, chiral recognition, saccharide recognition, anion recognition and sensors for reactive oxygen species (ROS). He received his BSc from the University of East Anglia (1986), PhD from the University of Victoria (1991), and was a Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Japan with Seiji Shinkai (1991-95). He was awarded a Royal Society University Research Fellowship at the University of Birmingham (1995-2000) before moving to the University of Bath in 2001. He has been a visiting professor at Tsukuba, Osaka, Kyushu and Sophia Universities, an AMADEus invited professor at the University of Bordeaux and is a guest Professor at East China University of Science and Technology, Xiamen University, Shandong Normal University, Nanjing University, Shaanxi University of Science and Technology, Changzhou University and is a Hai-Tian (Sea-Sky) Scholar at Dalian University of Technology. He has published over 273 publications, including two books, 9 book chapters and 262 papers in international peer reviewed journals. He is also the named inventor on 25 international patents. He has delivered 225 invited lectures within the UK and internationally. Citation statistics indicate that one of his publications has been cited over 700 times, two over 500, four over 300, fourteen over 200 times, twenty-eight over 100, and 73 over 50, with a total of >12,930 citations at a frequency of >49 citations per article. He has an h-index of 62 (Google Scholar August 2018). He received the Daiwa-Adrian Prize for developing scientific networks with Japan in 2013, the inaugural CASE Prize for establishing scientific networks with China in 2015, and the MSMLG Czarnik Award in 2018.

Record last modified Nov 15, 2018 8:44:07 AM