Webinar (October 31, 2017)

Enter once | Reuse Often:

What does this mean to research institutions?

Research is conducted and communicated at organizations like yours - universities and private institutes, government and commercial laboratories, and other research institutions. Globally you employ and teach millions of individuals who are engaged in innovative research, teaching, and scholarship.

You manage research information in many different systems. This makes it hard to keep track of your researchers’ activities and outputs within your own institution. And it’s even more challenging once you take into account the many grant application, manuscript submission, research profile, and other systems that they are interacting with outside of your institution. On top of that, researchers move around - after graduation, on sabbatical, on secondment, or to new positions.

How does ORCID help with these challenges? This webinar was designed to help answer these questions.

Register now

What you'll learn

  • What ORCID is, and how it can enhance understanding of scholarly contributions from your institution.
  • How ORCID iDs can be used to distinguish your researchers while improving the flow of information about the research accomplished.
  • How you can use ORCID to help control how your institution’s name is used across research systems.
  • How you can authoritatively assert affiliations with your institution for your staff, faculty, and students.
  • How you can leverage real-time notifications about research activities to auto-update forms, and follow the careers of alumni.
  • How ORCID compliments the other systems that you use.

The session will also explain how ORCID member consortia work, and the benefits of becoming a member through one of them.

Who should attend?

The content of this webinar will be most applicable to leaders in the areas of research, information technology, scholarly communications and digital infrastructure at US-based research institutions. As always, others are welcome to attend.

When is the webinar?

Date: October 31 (Tuesday)
Time:
  • UTC: 7:00-8:00 PM
  • Eastern Daylight Time (UTC-4): 2:00 - 3:00 PM
  • Pacific Daylight Time (UTC-7): 11:00 - 12:00 PM
  • Alaskan Daylight Time (UTC-8): 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
  • Hawaiian Standard Time (UTC-10): 8:00 - 9:00 AM